Derelict

H, Pops and her friend were going into town this morning so I thought I'd go with them and get a shot as a tribute to Tim  (#sarumstroller) who died recently. I never met him but like a lot of people on blip he was very helpful, always sharing his considerable photographic knowledge and would always help with any technical problems I had.

What stood out for me was his patience, planning and how he used light, which set him apart from most of us. Whenever I take a landscape shot I always try and slow down, 'think what SS would do' I say to myself.

So today I planned, I knew the location, I took a tripod and a fisheye and waited for the sky to have a bit life and a few people to arrive to give a little interest.. I took several shots, combined them, straightened them out and cleaned them up on photoshop. I'm sure he'd have found my efforts quite amusing but would have had a kind word to say.

Which is the message I suppose, kindness is easy, being good to people and trying to do the right thing has to be our first reaction to anything.

It’s 30 years today since H and I met, just round the corner from where I took this. A pub obviously, The Cambridge Arms, she was standing in the yard, blue polka dot wrap top, oversized levis and very dubious shoes. I was smitten, I think the fact she had a pint of ale in her hand was the icing on the cake. Who would have thought we’d be here 30 years later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.