Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

Anaphalis margaritacea

...or just pearly everlasting. It's billowing all over the garden at the moment. I’ve just learned that you can eat the leaves, but I haven’t tried them yet.

Usual Saturday romps with our favourite ten year old. He's loving swimming at the moment and has recently learned to float.  It's easy - you just lie back and let go - but not for a cautious soul like him.  So it is a major triumph seeing him enjoying star fished with a peaceful smile. It makes me think of how hard it is for me to let go at times...but I'm learning. 

Later I finished reading The Overstory.  It's a long while since I have been so compelled by fiction.   I felt utterly bereft when I read the last page and wanted to go straight out and hug a tree.  Given it was 2 am, I restrained myself and left it till the light came up! I'm glad the novel made the Booker Short List.  Hope it wins. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.