Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

Some Candy Talking

No walk tonight, a lovely colleague asked me if I'd like to go with her to the Maceo Parker concert in Rotterdam after work and I jumped at the chance.

After a few larks and missed turnings (oops!) we arrived at the Schouwburg with five minutes to spare before the concert started (phew!)

Considering his musical pedigree, it was a great opportunity to see an old pro at work, and I wasn't disappointed; the band played tighter than a tight drum after the screws had been turned, and the music was cooooool and funky.

I invariably know the title of my Blip as soon as I click the shutter, and this one was going to be entitled 'Make it Funky'. But suddenly the gorgeous Candy Dulfer put in a guest appearance, and my singing brain cells switched gear from funk to rock. If anyone knows who sung 'Some Candy Talking' (no Googling!) they win a Brownie point from me ;)

Together with Candy on sax, and a solitary pianist, Maceo performed this number, You Don't Know Me. His version of this old Ray Charles number sent shivers down my spine and put a lump in my throat. Sublime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.