The Supper Club Files

By SupperGuru

Express Pasta

Another entry form the very culinary Beachlander today - as I am eating out this even ing it saves me posting a restaurant review ...


Chicken and Spinach Pasta

I had another meal planned for today, but the Youngest decided that she'd prefer pasta to the curry I'd planned. So I decided to still use my chicken, courgette, red onion, mushrooms and spinach.

Chicken mixture
350g of chicken thigh
1 red onion (or any colour you like)
A massive courgette chopped
A cup of mushrooms chopped/sliced
A bag of spinach chopped up

Cook your chicken with a little splash of oil in a pan on a high heat, I don't use it as I find that the thigh has enough fat to cook without it.
Add in the onion when the chicken is nearly cooked, and cook until soft.
Add the courgette and mushrooms and cook for a few minutes.
Add the spinach and cook until wilted and mixed through. Then rest.

While that is cooking, boil your pasta, and make your sauce.

Sauce
25 grams butter
Third of a cup of flour
500ml of vege stock
2 handfuls of grated cheese
3 cloves of garlic crushed
Milk

Melt the butter over a low heat, then add the flour and mix together.
Bung the vege stock in and stir together.
Add the cheese and garlic and mix.
Add some milk until you get the consistency you want.

Once the pasta is cooked, drain and then add the cooked chicken mixture and top with the sauce. Mix it all together and then serve.

This was a bodge together meal that worked out very nicely, disappeared down the gullets of small children without them even moaning about the mushrooms! Result.



NOTE: if you wish to be a supper club guest all it takes is for you to take a picture of your supper and send it to me along with your recipe/write up and I will upload it to the supper club journal! The only criteria is that it has to be a photo taken the same day as it is to be published in accordance with blip rules. I am hoping to possibly get a Photo Recipe book out of it, that will raise money for charity.

All Supper Club entries are tagged supperguru so you never need to be lacking in supper-time inspiration again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.