Dry Stane

Last year I spent lots of time walking in the Pentland Hills and particularly by the reservoirs. I've not had the opportunity to do that this year but today I thought I'd put it right. I was going into Edinburgh anyway and I'd seen the photography/painting competition being run by the Friends of the Pentland Hills Group. Entries to be in by Friday. I imagined I'd have nothing more to do than go up to Harlaw and walk around taking photographs of the lovely trees, water and hills there and at Threipmuir. But when I got there I was horrified to see the water level (extra) and the exposed sides of the reservoirs. Chatting to some other walkers it became clear that it was a lot lower a few weeks ago. We really do need rain. I'm not sure I managed a photograph to enter but I might give it a go.

Towards the end of my walk I came upon this chap from the Dry Stone Walling Association repairing a bit of wall which had collapsed because of some drainage problem. Skilled work.

After a good walk in the bright sun (but chilly wind) I set off to meet my friend and former colleague J who filled me in on all the happenings at the old place. I was glad not to be heading into the office, as she was, when we parted.

Beautiful afternoon. I'm off to the garden now before walking the dog again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.