Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

A bowl with a difference.........

......or will be when it is turned.
     I thought I would put my hand to some turning as I have been recently making a box. It makes a change anyway!!! 
The extra shows it at a different angle.
     
     I have turned the Ash wood blank so it is perfectly round and flattened the side as per shot above. I carefully cut, after measuring, part of the bowl sides and I am now going to glue a different wood in with the sides as well. 
When the glue has set, I will cut off the extra length of the inserted wood and remount the blank into the lathe for turning into its final bowl shape.

     The inserted pieces of wood will be Padauk which I will use from the large piece as in the main shot. The wood currently in the 'Bowl' is there to give you an idea of what the bowl will look like.

     I will post some more shots of it as I progress through this small project, in the meantime I am preparing for the Watch box project. More to come on that later.

I hope you all had a pleasant weekend and that you are all well.
Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.