Bridge 129

This is bridge 129, Blacon Avenue Bridge. Not the most inspiring of bridges next to the police HQ and crematorium. 

I was curious about this bridge because if fits into the old numbering system rather than having a letter appended as usually happens with the newer bridges. 

I thought it was probably built in the 1950s and wondered if it replaced an older one at the same location. I had a look at the OS map from 1952 and there is no bridge at all but it does show one further along towards Mollington Road Bridge which appears to no longer exist. Blacon was only developed in the 1950s, I believe it was once the biggest council estate in the country, so I'm guessing this bridge replaced one further along. I think I'll go and see if there is any trace of the old bridge and road. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.