One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Morevember

They're everywhere!

Here we have Phil, proudly showing off his three week old tache.
I couldn't not ask him for a shot.
I think that there is a blueness of eyes, a whitetitude of skin and reddity of hair that can only be found in Ireland and Scotland.

It's taken me a little while to pinpoint why exactly I really wanted to take his photograph in this light and I realise now that with the combination of Dart green seat, white complexion and red hair, he reminded me of a smiley, approachable incarnation of the Irish flag.

We had a good laugh and a chat. Movember is definitely an ice breaker.

I can now without fail make the distinction between the movemberists and the 24/7/365 moustachiculturists.
The latter look decidedly pissed off.
I suppose that they may be peeved at seeing so many people around them having a laugh themed around their facial hair of choice.



On a side note, I was reminded yesterday that I should not be joking with a girl's image of herself.
As the kids read Buckles in the Metro every morning, I thought that it would be fun for them to chance upon Mimi's image in the newspaper.
I had emailed the photo for reader's pic of the day on Monday, and there it was in the paper yesterday morning.
At first when she saw this on the platform, Mimi was chuffed. But then as we got on the packed (surprise surprise...) train, she rapidly became very self conscious, seeing that everybody on the train reads this quality (ok, free) publication, and that some of them where in the act of reading "her" page.
The fact that Luca kept saying very loudly "wow, Mimi, you're in the paper! You are famous! You are going to be rich, will you buy me a 3DS?!" did not help.
I then realised that the poor thing was really embarrassed and quite shy really.
She proceeded to erase herself from the paper with a red pen, and I really felt quite bad then.
I managed to negotiate a peace treaty with the promise of an extra three jelly babies that evening, but I could tell that what I had assumed would be a fun experience had actually quite upset her.
She had lightened up by the time we reached the school.
When we got to her classroom, her teacher was beaming, she had a copy of the Metro in her hand and greeted her with a big loud "Mimi! My little star!"
It was quite adorable to see Mimi's cheeks turn bright red. She was panicking a bit at being in the spotlight, but at the same time I could tell that coming from her teacher, the attention was welcome.
I've got a feeling though that taking photos of Mimi in the coming days/weeks/decades is going to be tough...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.