... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Indoor blip (*finds flash and flowers...*)

See it sparkle in large ("L").

I had plans to go back to Long Pond (the boating pond) on Clapham Common to see if I could photograph the fledglings juvenile geese, but I've had a busy day and when my moment to see them finally appeared, the rain was pouring and the light had gone, so I just drove past, and couldn't see them anyway... The black-headed gulls were still there en masse, and I was tempted to stop and see if I could find the beautiful juvenile one with brown flashes on its wings, but the machine-gun rattle of the rain on the roof of my car deterred me.

So, here it is, another flashy orchid picture: the flash was below and behind the flowers, and I used the camera's built-in flash to brighten the yellow "mouth" of the closest flower slightly. It also brought out the sparkle in the petals... The background orange lights/bokeh are actually just lights in our kitchen (through the open kitchen door), but very underexposed since the picture was exposed for the entirely flash-illuminated orchid in the darkened next room.
I love playing with remote flash: it is controlled by pre-flashes from the camera's built-in flash, so you can just position it where you want on its little stand, and control the flash exposure through the camera's menu (the built-in flash and remote flash are controlled independently). Lots of scope for experimentation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.