DURING THE MORNING

there came blue in the sky and later it was warm and sunny. I start my walk along the river, it is quiet and enjoyable.
Try again some pictures I tried before. But the old bare tree surrounded at the foot of bright yellow leaves is our favourite today.
I had the custom to collect all the things I found in the books I had bought for my bookshop and put these in a drawer. Back then I had little time to sort them out but I found everything very interesting. Visiting cards, ex-librises, post cards written or unwritten, letters, photos, devotional pictures, literary and other reviews, the list is endless really. At some time I made collages from what I had collected. But the piles kept growing.
When we moved I put everything in cartons and had the intentions to sort it out.
Four years have passed and I did not look into it.
This afternoon I made a start, one hour I sorted, made little heaps and was lost in memories. I was looking for the early catalogues my father had made and number 5 issued in februari 1948 was the oldest I could find.

My haiku:

Finding a bookworm
My intention but lost in
Letters and pictures

And the proverb from Emerson:

The virtue of books is to be readable.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.