Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Cisseps fulvicollis - Yellow-collared Scape Moth

When I found this lovely thing's picture in my insect book, I thought it was a Virginia Ctenucha. But a bit more research online makes me think it's more likely that it's Cisseps fulvicollis - Yellow-collared Scape Moth. They are almost identical looking, but it seems that Virginia (the state of) is the very southernmost point of the Ctenucha's range - despite its name, whereas Cisseps is very common here. So. Whatever. What do you think?

What it is in any case is a moth that is one of the wasp mimics. Isn't it pretty?

The rain miraculously stopped in the early afternoon today and the sun even put in a mini-appearance so I darted out with my camera to try to find something for Tiny Tuesday. And lo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.