After the Kyna.

By Triciamb

Developments at Newbyres Castle

This area of brambles and thistles was cut down a few weeks ago. The covering with black plastic presumably as a weed suppressant and the covering with topsoil implies further planting. I look forward to seeing progress.
This was the place where Kyna got down to the lower part of the glen. She had a grand time exploring but discovered that her attempt to return was blocked by a ledge too high for her to jump.
So I went down the 20 or so feet, retrieved her, and started to return, naturally with Kyna on a lead. Then I discovered there was a slop I could not get up! Despite the willing help of 5 little boys, combined attempts with waste plastic were insufficient. I rang a friend for help, could he come with a rope? He didn’t have a rope but brought an extension lead, which was wrapped round a tree at the top and that allowed me to pull myself up the final 6 feet. Very glad to get up and have never allowed Kyna near the edge of the glen since.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.