Four Hens and a Dog!

Here is my Oscar blip for the week, and as it is my 4th year blip day there had to be hens! You'll be pleased to know no hens were harmed in the making of this blip, although Oscar obviously found them tasty if you look at my first extra! But you can see all were happy after the photoshoot!
Another settled night for the pair of us, and I've decided to try him in the attic tonight! I like sleeping with dogs! My old one did most of his life till he got too old and tired for the two flights of stairs! The exile returns Sunday so  I have to return to sleeping in the attic then, and to be honest I prefer it there and things feel odd sleeping elsewhere. My IBS really is really not happy at the moment and it's taking the edge off my happiness! So hopefully this will help settle me and therefore it! I've partitioned off 3/4 of the attic to keep him away from most of my precious clothes. There is still one clothing rail still in tempting reach, I plan to cover it with his washed large blanket and litter the area with all the bits of material he has been chewing - one fluffy cat basket liner, one doormat, two dishcloths! Plus assorted chewy toys! Milkshake has now taken up residence in her cat basket in my meditation room with her Catmint strewn scratching pad and an assortment of toys! I have to grab my meditation as and when I can whilst Oscar is napping! If he wakes and discovers me gone he begins to whimper and yelp, not conducive to meditation! I really want to get back into a routine of doing that as it helps centre me. FatCat is still in the attic and I don't know where she will go! There are plenty of spaces she can hide up there in the 3/4 of the space Oscar hopefully can't get to! 
Oscar and I went up to the allotment early to do the hens - I decided for a stress free opening to leave him in the car! He was very happy with that! He dislikes getting in and out of the car, and going out and into the house! But  happy once in both places! I wonder if he thinks he is going to be taken somewhere and given away again, or maybe he simply finds it awkward getting in and out as this doesn't explain his dislike of then getting out of the car and back into the house? I also wonder if he is waiting for The exile to appear when we do such things. Oh dog psychology - what fun trying to work out what he is thinking! Don't think I ever will so operant conditioning and treats it is! Everything I have read says positive training, no punishment as they simply won't understand it. He reminds me of some of the children I taught - telling them off just seemed to energise them! Better to ignore bad behaviour unless he is putting himself or me or the cats in danger! I have not been using treats with him so far - just the pigs ear to occupy his chewing and treats in the muffin game! Today I decided the treats are needed to get him over this phobia! I'm also getting used to his daily manic phases! He is only supposed to have 2 x 20 mins walks but I think he needs more to run off his energy! He goes quite loopy for 30 mins or more, grabbing my clothes, leaping up at me! I direct him to his chew toys and play games with him till he tires himself out! Very hard to judge if this overstimulates him. He had a manic phase on our return from the allotment even though he'd had a walk round the allotments and on my plot where he was fine. Roll on Puppy training classes next week! 
I intend to spend the afternoon relaxing in the sunshine and reading a book - if Oscar lets me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.