The dray's on its way.

The barrels were all lined up outside a bar near work on my way in today. 

It's an unremarkable photo but it reminded of many many years ago when I was small helping my grandad polish the beer bottles at their pub in Kettering. I remember some of the names Ben Truman, Watney Red Barrel, Double Diamond. The pub had a snug, main bar and a jug and bottle; it was a red brick end of terrace and holds many happy memories of being there with my grandparents.

We've still got a few bits of old pub memorabilia, a Babycham Bambi and a Guinness Toucan lamp to name but two tasteful items. I've also got, in its original box, a first edition Guinness Book of World Records, which must have been given to publicans at the time. I've no idea if it's worth anything?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.