Last Gasp

We set off to RSPB Minsmere today full of optimism. I decided to take my DSLR with my long lens with me - it would be the first time in a couple of years that it has been out, as it was just too heavy for me to carry. As I got it out of its bag to check the settings, I realised that there was no battery in it. But if course I had packed a spare. except that this one was not fully charged so I was on borrowed time. It was another bright, sunny day but somewhat on the gusty side. There was very little to be seen on the circuit. The reed beds were blowing about so its inhabits were lying low, and on the scrapes, apart from some drab looking ducks in eclipse plumage the only thing of real interest was an Avocet with a gammy leg. We repaired to the cafe for a late lunch, then decided to head back but stop off at Sizewell beach for an hour or so. It was very pleasant in the afternoon sunshine. There was a feeding frenzy of small birds over the power station and quite a few gulls and cormorants commuting between the platforms out to sea. As we decided to head home, I spotted something of interest on a picnic table just a few yards from where we were parked. It was not easy to see with the late afternoon sun behind it, but I was able to give it a wide berth and get round it to get a better view of what turned out to be a Kestrel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.