Poppy

By Poppy

Knitted patchwork

A day in Lerwick.  So much else to see here as well as Wool Week!  Lunch from the Olive Tree cafe, which we took back to the Hub to eat, and met up with two other Orkney friends. We  swapped news, and sat and chatted and knitted for a while. I was desperate to cast on my newly purchased wool, it was burning a hole in my bag!

A good explore of the shops in the afternoon, and then to the Islesburgh community hall for an evening get together of knitters and spinners, with a huge tea laid on too! 

Great to see so many folk all laughing and chatting about wool! Everyone is so friendly and you end up talking to so many people from so many places.  Lucas from the States was very entertaining!  I got help, with a type of rib that was new to me, from a lady from the Lake District and chatted to a knitwear designer about her pattern, which I hope to knit one day. There was also a wonderful display of knitting, including this throw, which is made of hat patterns! Absolutely amazing colours and designs, beautiful. A really good and interesting day.  Got home exhausted and our heads spinning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.