Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Great white egret

Back blipped on 28th Sept

When I photographed this, I assumed it was a little egret - which I know are recent colonisers, but commonly seen in East Anglia.  It was only when I came to blip that I looked it up, and realised that the yellow bill means it is a great white egret, becoming more common, but still much rarer.

It was wading around, catching fish (I think that's a fish in its beak) and other things, in the marshes at Surlingham.  We saw it on the outward walk, and it was still there on the way back some 45mins later - at which time there was also a heron on the pool.

We drove to Surlingham Ferry, then had a very pleasant walk along the bank of the River Yare, through RSPB Surlingham Church Marsh.  We finished off the lovely day out with a meal sitting outside at Surlingham Ferry Inn.  I managed to walk about 3km, but I certainly knew about it in the evening, and have been stiff today.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.