Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Robin

It seemed an ideal day for starting a long overdue clean up of my pond.  According to the RHS you should do this every 5 years or so ... my pond probably hasn't been cleaned since I installed it over 20 years ago when I moved in.  It was badly silted and overgrown with flag iris, water lily and buttercup.

So I set to and managed to clear it out saving most of the water and rescuing my one remaining goldfish and numerous frogs. The plants have been drastically divided, and the silt spread over the beds under shrubs.  Having put most of the water back it needs to settle before replanting and putting the fish back in, so I cleared up and stood back to admire my work.

A which point, this robin appeared and came down to have a look. It was clearly enjoying digging through the silt, and posed beautifully for me as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.