Seeing through the dark

Databases. B wants N. C complains that R doesn't work. D knows a consultant who can sort it all out. E thinks email could be integrated. Q wants A. F doesn't think V works properly. G can't see why it won't do S. H has a friend who can migrate it all to Access. J puts the data into Excel instead of the database because it's easier. K wants T. And then there's that other database that isn't working properly either.

I have the right answer too, and it isn't any of these, but I keep quiet because I'm sick of the discussions that go nowhere month after month, fuelled by frustration and moans, and anyway by the time anything is implemented, if it ever is, I'll be long gone. Meanwhile I log into the bit of database that's behind the scenes, because it's not actually that hard to do, and populate the drop-down menus that I use with stuff that's useful and hide what isn't. I also correct 'Asaian' to 'Asian', Venezwela' to 'Venezuela' and check that 'Iran Kurdish' has never been used, though 'Iranian - Kurdish' and Kurdish (Iranean)' have, so I delete the first and leave the other two.

This week it was thought that I might know what I was talking about so I was invited to today's meeting, on one of my non-work days, with a techie who might be able to improve things. I promised myself that unless I was convinced there was a chance of progress I would not add to the hot air.

Techie: We need to look at what it does at the moment, work out what you want it to do, see how everyone uses it, then we need to agree what needs to be changed, decide priorities and implement them in coherent steps.
Me: (sotto voce) Yes! And especially that third thing, talk to the users! Yes! I like you!

So I spoke: that other database - it could easily be integrated with the first one. One thing to maintain. One place to look things up. One way of getting reports out. 
Surprise from colleagues, even though I have said it before. Thought. Agreement!

I showed the techie database 1. A colleague showed him database 2. He and I both noted what needs doing next.

By the time I emerged from a convivial drink in the pub with upbeat colleagues it was dark.


Yesterday - uploaded recently. I'm catching up with my 24-hour lag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.