Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

The bottom of the bowl!!!

..... or what will be. I am not pleased with it as it has not glued up as I expected, and that may down to to little glue when I applied it to stick the coloured Padauk wood with in the bowl. 
     When turning it, I seem to have got a lot of end grain tear out and the more I do, more comes out as shown in the extras. If you look at the extra you can see the edge of the ash on the rim of the 'bowl' where it is supposed to be stuck to the Padauk wood.
So, what I have decided to do is cut the whole piece in the band saw and turn it into a plate. 
     I will make another bowl but much larger with the same type of pattern.
Oh well, I'll put this one down to being a bit of a failure. Never mind, good practice though!!! At least I will be able to retrieve some of it as a plate.

Hope you are all enjoying your weekend.
Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.