Peppers and the Secretary of State

I had lost hope for my pepper plants. More than five months and nothing happened with them other than the loss of some leaves. But my sister in law encouraged me to stay the course. Sure enough, there are now numerous tiny peppers on their way. Perhaps these will be Christmas peppers? I have to admit that gardening in the desert is very confusing.

During our 20 minute commute to school each morning, Bob and I listen to National Public Radio. Occasionally a story is too grim and I change stations, but generally, I keep it on and Bob peppers me with questions about what he has heard. Today, after a story on the cease fire negotiations in Gaza, Bob asked me, "What was that about the Secretary of State?" So I started to say who Hillary Clinton is and describe her job. But Bob interrupted. "Mom, I know that Hillary Clinton is the Secretary of State, I just don't know what a truce is." I guess the NPR time is paying off. I know I could not identify the name and title of the secretary of state when I was 7 years old. Could you?

This immune suppression really sucks. Today I feel like I have a heavy weight on my chest and a sore throat. I still don't feel fully recovered from the ear/sinus infection. So I slept most of the day, thankful that my telemedicine job allows me nap time. But I would appreciate a reprieve from all this very soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.