A silly tale

Our whole day was spent outside working in the chicken field. We spent a few hours reorganising the electric fence to prevent it from "earthing ".
As we did not leave the house /garden all day there was very little inspiration for the Silly Saturday Challenge. I have done enough blips of our feathered and furry friends lately.

Last week my contribution to the Challenge was a book of Alice in Wonderland seen at a museum in the New Forest. Today I searched my bookshelves for an equally amusing tome. Not as old as Alice but my 1955 book called "Modern Types" is a good contender. It originally cost 8 shillings and sixpence. I must have bought it as a teenager in a secondhand bookshop in Hackney. I spent many an hour browsing the shelves in such places. My favourite was Foyles in Charing Cross Road.

Reading the foreward, Geoffrey Gorer , the author states that all but two of these Modern Types have previously appeared in Punch. I have two big hardbacked editions of Punch compilations- 1924 and 1936. The advertisements in the latter are a wonderful social history of that era.

Gorer , who was a political satirist, has written amusing characterisations of 22 "Types".The illustrations are by Ronald Searle, who died in 2011. He was the creator of St Trinians. His satirical cartoons and caricatures are wonderful.

I know Admirer loves old books and I hope she won't mind me contributing another book to this weeks Silly Saturday Challenge. Thanks again Admirer for encouraging me to seek out the bizarre and sometimes nonsensical.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.