Back in the day

Up early to pack and get sorted....then set off south. Uneventful journey listening to The Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey for book group - really enjoyed it (rethinking the Richard III story of the murder of the Princes).
Got snarled up in traffic after I left the motorway so didn’t have time to go and see my old house before meeting up with quite a few women from school. My goodness - such a mix of instant recognition with some people and no clue with others! - but lots of chat and laughter. Several had brought old photos and we talked about all those who weren’t at the lunch. They seemed to know the whereabouts of many, although it was sad to hear that Jane (front right of the old photo) died about 8 years ago - she was brilliant.
This one was of a group of us with our 6th form teachers - the older one (Miss Foulds) was amazing. She was our English teacher but also our form teacher in first year and again in 6th form. She was a wise old owl and I vividly remember her encouraging me to collect data and build an evidenced argument about stuff rather than just be angry/annoyed about it. I’m sure she set me off to become an empirical social scientist!
5 of the ones from this photo were there today (extra - prizes for spotting who!)
Had a little look round the rest of Salts Mill before we left - I managed to buy some rather lovely jewellery for the wedding - then drove on down to A’s. Nice to relax and chat over supper....the celebration week starts here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.