Danksound's Musing

By Danksound

Calendula Ointment

I make calendula oil (marigold) every now and again before I run out of it. I went on a herb course about 15 years ago now and learned this on the course. It’s very good for healing the skin. I also make oregano oil. Only read on if you are interested.

I buy the calendula petals, pots and bottles from a herbalist in Elephant and Castle but they are also online. I usually make the oil and bottle it but this time I warmed the oil up and added beeswax to make an ointment as it is easier to transport.

Ingredients:-
Calendula petals
Carrier oil (almond oil, sunflower oil, olive oil etc)
1 jar

Method for oil:-
The empty jar is packed tightly with the petals near the top and then filled up with carrier oil. (I usually use organic olive oil as it’s lovely and soft).
You put enough oil to soak all the calendula petals to just over the top. Then leave a small space at the top of the jar as it can swell up a little and seep out of the top of the jar and can be messy. Put the lid on the jar. Place the jar on a window sill in the sunshine and leave for a few weeks - a minimum three weeks. This time it was three months!! Keep turning the jar to catch the sunlight. Strain the contents of the jar through a muslin bag into a jug and then pour into a small dark bottle.

Ointment:-
To make the ointment you need a small amount of beeswax pellets. Warm the calendula oil once strained into a bowl in a Bain Marie and add 10% of beeswax to the ratio of oil. (I had 90gms oil so put 9gms beeswax.) Stir until the beeswax is melted and thoroughly mixed with the oil. Pour into pots and leave to cool before you put the lids on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.