conventgirl

By conventgirl

Men in lycra

Today we had a cycling event going on in the park. I'm not quite sure what it was but it seemed to be very serious and important. When I first went over I caught the tail end of a junior race and whilst most of the kids were about 10 - 14 yrs I was surprised to see some as young as 2 or 3 yrs. They were all kitted out in team jerseys and going at it hell for leather.
As I wandered round the course I came across  a large group and realised they were waiting for the start of the next race which, I should imagine, was the men's elite. These were the serious ones - you could almost smell the testosterone in the air!
It was interesting to see the amount of kit some of the guys had - several bikes (all of which probably cost more than a small car), many spare wheels and tyres, first aid stuff, drinks and energy bars etc etc.
I bet there are some aching bodies tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.