biddy

By biddy

Lady in Red.

I walked up the garden earlier this morning, and the air was cold. After the warmth of the last few days it was a reminder that October arrives tomorrow.  
My beautiful Ingrid Bergman rose is flowering once again, the result of some warmer days after intermittent welcome rain this past month. 
My dad used to grow roses. 
He made a rose bed in the back garden of the house where I used to live with with him, mum and my sister, before my marriage. It was situated underneath the two south facing sash windows. 
     Then he planted roses which all had female names. 
Ingrid, however, was his pin-up. He loved her films, and had a photo of her and Humphrey Bogart stuck on the wall in our kitchen near the sink.  Much to everyone's amusement who came to visit. The rose is just as beautiful as it's namesake. 
     When our son Matthew went to visit Morocco in the late  1990's, he brought back a poster for him from Casablanca of a still from the famous film of the same name. 
       We had to suffer occasionally from dad saying "Let's watch "Casablanca" " his favourite. Mum used to tolerate this foible, but she did like it too! 
     My cousin bought me the rose in dad's memory after he died in 2010. He had been a widower then for 20 years.  
After breakfast we went off to church. I was feeling quite tired  by lunchtime from the business of yesterday.
        I dozed off on the settee a bit later only to rouse myself in order to go with hubby to a small gathering of friends for another birthday celebration during the afternoon at one of the popular Lounge Bars in the town centre. 
    More catching up! Lots of conversations and taking of photos!
   Now the curtains have been drawn and the lamps are switched on as I type this blip.
       I think I'll soon be in the Land of Nod later on, as I did not sleep too well last night.  
Start of a new week............ 

    
      
           
      
      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.