Photomuncher's Spot

By photomuncher

Inspirational - Anne Mustoe

I have just finished my umpteenth reading of Anne Mustoe's book, A Bike Ride: 12000 miles around the world.

If I am ever on Dessert Island Discs and Kirsty asks which book I will want to take, this will be it. For all sorts of reasons.

First, it is so well written. She hits just the right balance of travel lore, cycling detail, history and adventure. The pages zip by as if she is hurtling down a long, exciting descent.

Second, she is an inspiration for we mortal cyclists of a certain age. Starting cycling at the age of 54 or her early retirement, she built herself up to a regime of 50 miles a day, 5 days a week, 1000 miles a month. Now, that's a regime most of us can aspire to and it leaves plenty of time for sight seeing, reflection and writing on the road.

Third, she is so positive throughout. Nothing and nobody is allowed to get her down - at least not for long.

I am sorry to say, Anne is no longer with us, but as long as her books are in print, she will have her admirers to keep her memory warm I am sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.