Islaynder

By Islaynder

Heron

I found my preferred route to the Botanic Gardens closed.  Bridge refurbishment. Road closed for 24 weeks (inc pedestrian access). 
After a few false starts I found a way around which took me along streets I'd never otherwise have known. 
I spent a while at the pond at the Botanics looking for (and listening for - they make a very distinctive "plop" when they dive) the kingfisher I so often saw in spring but neither heard nor saw.  Maybe the heron that I saw laboriously take off and fly to roost on a nearby tree had taken the kingfishers lunch?   No.  Of course it didn't!  
Shop then brisk pre-run warm up walk home. 
There is a flight of 210 steps which reach from Duddingston Loch to Queens Drive and, feeling masochistic, ran that way.  I was pleased to be able to run the steps but I had to have a wee breather at the top of them!
Non stop to the top after that though. 

I like these wee videos but I wish they were a bit slower.
https://www.relive.cc/view/g25293771272

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.