NellieD

By NellieD

Fear is something I try not to absorb

So Day 1 of not working started off pretty well as I got filmed by the local TV station! 

A giant mural of Mark E Smith, founder of The Fall, was completed at the weekend as part of the Prestwich Arts Festival by renowned graffiti artist Akse P19, the man behind the Northern Quarter murals of David Bowie and Tony Wilson.

I didn't know but The Fall were founded in Prestwich in 1976 and were named after the novel by Camus.

The Manchester Evening News reports "Abrasive and prolific, Smith was the only ever-present member of the hugely influential post-punk band.  Roughly 66 musicians played in the band at one point or another, although the bulk of the final line-up remained almost unchanged since 2006."

Fate and timing is a strange thing!  I decided to go and look at this mural first thing this morning but then the gardener arrived so I decided to wait until he had finished. I didn't get there until after lunch but what a time I chose to arrive! 

The man in the suit eating his chips is the artist and he was being interviewed by Granada TV.  As I quietly stood and took my blip, they asked if they could film me taking photos. I then asked if I could take one of artist being filmed by the camera crew. 

I had to step into the road to get everything in the picture so unfortunately chopped off the words at the side of the mural "fear is something I try not to absorb", a quote from an interview he gave with the Guardian in 2011.

Quote for today:
When I'm dead and gone, my vibrations will live on, in vibes on vinyl through the years, people will dance to my waves.
- Mark E Smith, The Fall

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.