A favourite view

Little Dog pokes her head over the bed with a longing look.  Who am I to refuse an extra half hour in bed?  Up she leaps and we plan the day.  She's always less than impressed when she hears the word bike and when the wrong wardrobe door opens; the one with the wrong outdoor kit. Her ears noticeably flatten.

Feeling guilty, I eat breakfast and head on out, soon forgetting the furball that I've left behind on the chair with a blanket.  It's pretty parky both indoors and out but I'm snug dressed from head to toe in my semi-winter kit.

I miss the early sun but it's out again now as I head through Embsay and up to the top for one of my favourite views.  A little detour is an option over Langbar on the return but I remember Little Dog, feel the guilt twinge and plump for the Cow and Calf instead.  Warm now, I take my time over the hill and enjoy the last airy descent back home - always better than the uphill slog going the other way, if I can only face the hill first.

Little Dog gets her turn and it's a potter today before I dash out for a few supplies.  A spicy vegan dinner gets the seal of approval, "I'd eat that in a restaurant." And now it's time to start on the Christmas tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.