Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

An unexpected find

I'd arranged to meet up with a colleague at Belton House before going on to help him with a survey of a brownfield site further north in Lincolnshire. Having set off in good time, I was delayed by an accident on the A1, with all the traffic coming to a complete standstill. Luckily they cleared the road relatively quickly so I was only about half-an-hour late.

We spent the rest of the morning surveying the site, which was largely covered with nettles and bramble but had some rather nice open and sandy corners with a good assemblage of rare and local species. But my image shows the most surprising find of our visit -  a number of very well cared-for cannabis plants in a tucked away corner. There were troughs of water and watering cans nearby, and I have to say the plants looked rather statuesque in the bright autumn sun! 

By the afternoon it had clouded over, and I had a rather cool and breezy couple of hours recording in the Corby Glen area, where I managed to get the species count to a respectable level, though without any more exciting discoveries!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.