The Way I See Things

By JDO

Harlequin

This has been a really bad year for ladybirds. Two years ago, when I was quite newly into macro photography, I found so many species in the garden - native, as well as immigrants like this one - that I couldn't understand why people were talking about them being under threat; then last year I found many fewer, and this year I've seen hardly any. So, even though this is a Harlequin, I was pleased to spot it on my aster this morning. I could have done with it choosing a fresher bloom... but that's just photographic nitpickery.

I did find one or two other quite nice tiny things around the garden and the village: some ivy bees, a thick-legged hoverfly and a Red Admiral butterfly; but I've posted all of those recently, which is why the ladybird gets the nod today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.