jac1954

By jac1954

African Violet

I saw something on Face Book about taking cuttings~~~~~~~
No way I said to myself you could not possibly take a cutting from an african violet in water~~~~~~~ if they get to wet the plant just rots !!!!!!!
but the scientist in me said go on try it...........
first attempt failed they rotted just as I thought I said Hmmmmm!!!!
but everything deserves a second chance perhaps I did it wrong~~~~~~ 
yes I had ;-)
on reading it again ,I saw it said ONLY take leaves from the middle section of the plant.(I took the bottom ones as they were bigger) 
Then let them dry on the ends for a day.(I put mine straight into the glass with Paper towel over the top held by a rubber band,then make hole in top to allow the leaf to hang at an angle tilted inwards but the end to be submerged ) 
I had missed the part that said dry the cut end for a day !!!!!!!
with in a week little thread roots emerged.
I had been busy with my daughter moving out so I did not look at them any more.this is about 3 weeks growth. I have planted them up ley you blippers know how they get on......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.