Secret Moves

Well, I don't know about the chessmen, but I didn't venture far today - just to Dartmouth and back. A tree lay uprooted in a field across the road from the beach. There the waves were ENORMOUS - I've never seen them so high at shore-level. And when we reached the town, the higher ferry was closed. That's a rare occurence and only happens when the water is too rough for it to operate. The tide was in and the river was whoosing around ferociously. One of the boat-hire booths (closed for the winter) was uprooted, too - lying on its side on the quay. In three words: it was gusty!

So I spent the rest of the day warm and cosy and with my nose in a book. Modesty (amongst other things!) forbids my saying more, but if you visit my website-cum-blog you can discover more about the book I'm reading. (Address on the 'about' bit of this journal.) I am, let's say, quietly pleased.

Sadly, not line-dancing tonight. The weather's still too rough to drive unless absolutely necessary. Keep warm, folks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.