Ursonate

By Ursonate17

What's your story?

My brother and I met early today at the Royal Academy to see the Oceania show.

The collection on display is staggeringly powerful and inspiring...sourced from some of the greatest museums of anthropology.
But the curatorial style is full-on art show minimal - the objects, stranded on their plinths and locked into their vitrines were mute, their extraordinary life stories untold, their power reduced to their skin-deep beauty.

I understand the reasons for following this route, the stunning artefacts still add up to a blockbuster show, but I missed that sense of being deliciously lost in someone else's world.

Later, the real world of the Elephant and Castle and the old LCP to meet my kids for a progress update on our exhibition, now only a little over a week away.
I did this to try to introduce some sense of urgency...it had no effect!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.