A nostalgic day

I went to Brighton to see my Mum and help her do some sorting out.
We went through a wardrobe and got rid of 5 bin bags of clothing including this dress circa 1972/3 which I clearly remember her wearing and picking me up from school in, we threw out lots of old stuff too, curling tongs, an old iron, etc etc... my Mum is a bit of a hoarder and she lives in quite a big house so has been able to hang on to most of the things she has ever owned including ornaments, papers and furniture from her Mother and Father's house and even further back to her Grandparents.... of course the older something is the more interesting it becomes and the more attached to it you become so it's all very hard... anyway we took a car load of stuff to charity and prepared some of the next load, I'll go down again in a couple of weeks.
She has Ischemia and as a result her speech is slurred and conversation is hard for her, her balance is affected making her unsteady and she also finds writing hard, she still understands everything however, I felt very sorry for her today, it was very emotional...
While we were sorting things out we came accross a bag of papers that said 'Katherine's press cuttings', when I was 17 I featured on a record, my first, and an article and photo appeared in the local paper the Argus, today I found out that she bought 20 copies of it! I was very moved, took a couple and we put the rest in the recycling.
On my way there I popped into The Record Album, an amazing record shop owned and run by George now 82, in my early 20's living in Brighton with my piano player boyfriend Peter French, I used to spend hours in there sourcing songs and learning about new Artists (new to me at any rate), I was really into jazz vocalists then (still am) and Pete and I used to do gigs around Brighton performing our favourite jazz and blues tracks.
Wonderful to spend half an hour with George, I bought an unusual Billie Hooliday album from him that features her talking and arranging songs with her band, he gifted me a Marion Montgomery album and a print of the original Brighton Station, his other hobby is the architechture of stations! He is so enthusiastic about Music and vinyl and it's great that he is still there, he said 'I'm at the tail end of things' meaning the lease on the shop, up in 2014 (although he may keep it on if he feels up to it) but also his life, he didn't seem upset by this statement, the result of a full life well lived I expect, I cried all the way up the hill.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.