lovelife209

By mindful_life

Frantic Friday

Today truly was frantic! I had an extremely busy day at work but I kept reminding myself that I can only do what I can do! 

I started the day with a run, which as always makes me feel great for the day ahead! I did an informal mindful practice during my shower - trying to divert my thoughts from what I would have to do when I got to work, getting everything ready for the children at school etc etc and concentrated on the feeling of the shower, the sound and actually how pleasurable it was. Something so routine we do day in day out and don't give much thought to.

At lunch time I made sure I took my break and went to a local park that is only a 5-10 minute walk away and the sun was trying to break through so it was very pleasant.  I sat on a bench and watched a child feeding some bread to the ducks and remembered how my children loved to do that when they were a little younger.  

Upon thinking about the fact that we can only do so much, I found this quote which I thought really liked.

"I've been through so much that there isn't much left that can scare me. I've felt the most pain that I could feel, and I've felt the most pressure that I could feel and there's nothing else left. And I believe that I'm capable of doing anything." Ronda Rousey


Following my course on Wednesday which is being run my a psychology service where I live, I had a follow up call today because I scored highly on some of the questions they ask on a questionnaire we have to complete at the start of the sessions.  Scoring high is not a good thing in this case! However, Ross, was very kind on the phone and just wanted to check in with me. I explained a little more to him what has been going on for me and he gave me some advice on managing feelings and thoughts which was lovely.  Whilst I know that it is his job to call me, I was very pleased he did and he was very compassionate and friendly and I finished the call feeling like he really cared - which is a very good skill for him to have! I hope over the coming weeks and with the mindfulness practice I am keen to stick to that my scored will come down!!

So this quote is poignant for me because I do know I have been through a lot and whilst sometimes things are very hard I know that I am strong enough to come out of it and am capable of many things yet to come in my life.  

Happy Friday everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.