Simplicity

My favorite Thanksgiving food is fresh cranberries.

I am in a substantial minority, particularly as I enjoy eating raw fresh cranberries -- much too tart for most people.

Today was the first time I used some of the fresh, relatively local (grown 150 miles south of us) cranberries that I purchased at our farmers' market on October 27 and froze for later use. I put a generously measured two cups of cranberries into a simple cake, along with some chopped pecans and sweet spices, as well as the usual flour, sugar, vanilla extract, baking powder, and in this recipe, just two tablespoons of butter and a cup of milk -- no eggs.

By the time I took the cake out of the oven and it had cooled enough for me to cut a slice to photograph, the daylight, such as it had been, was gone, so I had to resort to a makeshift photo studio.

We'll enjoy this after our non-conformist Thanksgiving dinner of braised lamb shoulder, cooked slowly with onions, garlic, mushrooms, carrots, and white wine, as well as Brussels sprouts for Phil and kale salad for me, all local.

Among the many things I'm grateful for this year are the friendships I've made here on Blipfoto and the beautiful, humorous, and touching scenes of everyday life that they have brought me. Thank you!

(Phil has a serene Lake Padden shot for his blip today -- enjoy!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.