Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Jumping spider

Cosmophasis but could be wrong. I wish I had taken some top side snaps for ID purposes.

I love watching these tiny spiders with their cute faces. They are so full of character, created by their huge eyes and animated movements. Their feelers bobbing up and down, head raising and lowering as it scans the area, abdomen wagging like a dogs tail.

Difficult to get a good shot as they are usually in constant motion, darting around on the hunt for small flies. About 6 or 7mm long and totally harmless to humans. Often they disappear under a leaf to hide from my intrusion so I chase them back with my finger and they sometimes end up running along my arm, fighting their way through the forest of hairs.

The best shot is at a slight downward angle, so that you can get the eyes and the feelers in the focal plane, but that is about the best you can hope for at such macro distances. I am very pleased with this shot. Obviously a lot of cropping involved with such a small subject.

I picked up my passport and all went well. I decided not to take the camera as it was an immigration office and like embassies, probably would not allow cameras, besides which, the young lady was married and her husband would likely not be amused!

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.