passremarkable

By passremarkable

Open Evening

Today was Open Evening at school, an opportunity for mainly year 6 pupils and their parents to spend an evening learning more about what we, as a secondary school, offer. A few years ago the powers that be decided to make this day a training day, meaning that pupils stay at home and teachers spend the day on other activities, setting up for the Open Evening during the afternoon. I took the opportunity to dress down (even more so than usual) as it's essentially a non-uniform day for staff - and we all know how popular they were/still are. So, when it came time to make myself look a wee bit more presentable for the general public visiting in the evening I realised that I hadn't brought a change of shoes. I did debate just wearing the neon trainers (pictured) - nothing wrong with a bit of character - but, in the end, borrowed some patent heels from a colleague who keeps a stash under her desk. Bit of a difference from my habitual day wear - Softinos. Comfort over elegance every time. 
I've been at this school so long now (just started 20th year) that ex-pupils have started to show up on this evenings with their own kids. Tonight blast-from-the-past Kelly reminded me how I'd dragged her through her GCSE German and quizzed me on which other teachers are still knocking around the halls before introducing me to her eldest daughter who is due to start with us next autumn. 'You haven't changed a bit', she lied. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.