AviLove

By avilover

Larus novaehollandiae

A lovely close-up of the sixth New Zealander to make it onto my lifelist. I was able to pick up this and one other gull today at Viaduct Harbour in downtown Auckland, as well as a gorgeous Pied Shag.

New Zealand is home to three species of gull, one of which is endemic. This one is a Red-Billed Gull, which is found throughout the southern hemisphere in temperate and tropical regions. It is easily distinguished from the other resident gulls, as you might suspect, by its stunning red bill. It also has red legs, black wingtips with white spots, and a pristine white body. The juvenile looks very similar, though its bill is reddish black.

I slept like the dead last night. Nothing like a sleepless 36 hours of physical, emotional, and transgeographical stress to knock you out. I didn't get too crazy today; just walked the few kilometers from Mt. Eden to downtown, to scope out the ferry I'll be taking to Tiritiri Matangi on Sunday. I stopped in at the DOC visitors centre for info on local attractions, laid out in the sun (for too long, says my sunburnt arms) near the water, and watched the gulls fly about. It was sunny and warm and wonderful--I couldn't have felt more content.

No big plans tomorrow either. Gonna go see Skyfall (finally!) and stock up on groceries for my island getaway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.