earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Alan Bennett

Just an 84-year-old man reading from his diaries and it's hard to recall a more entertaining hour of live entertainment. He's a national treasure for a very good reason. The great man may now be rather frail but his dry delivery and sharp timing are as good as ever. It is impossible to describe how he managed to extract so many laughs from his episode of bowel cancer. You probably wouldn't want me to try. You really had to be there and I'm so glad I was.
 
And thanks to everyone who popped by and left a message on my other journal. I keep posting my faces quietly, just a name and a place, the recording of an encounter and a brief shared experience. It's very personal and I can never expect much to be said about each one but collectively they are building to be something that is more than the sum of the individual portraits. I recognise that and I am quite proud of the achievement. Having not missed a day in over five years, under sometimes very difficult circumstances, it's hard to imagine what might cause me to stop now. Onwards I go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.