Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Music time.

Wot i done t'day : Took ages to wake up properly. I read When the Wind Blows adapted from his book by Raymond Briggs and first performed by The Little Theatre Company, Bristol, on 26 January 1983.

I copied a few more slides from 1976. The extra is my sister with her boys exploring the rock pools near St Mary's lighthouse in Whitley Bay in August that year. Snaps of the lighthouse were overexposed and unrecoverable.

I like to get some extra practise of Sunday music . . . I had to print out the music for a key change as I am not adept at transposing on the fly - yet.

The BBC Nightline showed a piece by Aleem Maqbool investigating the deaths of people with mental, physical or intellectual disability during encounters with the police in the US. This is the result of lack of training/perception. One incident shows police tackling a young man with Down's syndrome: you NEVER prone a person with Down's syndrome as one example.  We had to deal with disruptive behaviour only through talk and defensive physical moves to prevent harm. This is a distressing subject for me after working with the disability/differently abled population for ten years. A policeman's job is not a happy one . . . "Command and control"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.