PaulineP

By PaulineP

WHAT !?!

The weather is so dreadful that ferry crossings were cancelled today.  Despite the wind and rain we drove to the Butt of Lewis, the northernmost point of the island.  I didn’t use my camera as it would have been the same as holding it under a shower and I don’t think “weather resistant” extends to that.

Peter and I could not believe this sign hammered onto a shut gate leading into a lovely children’s play ground.  The “Wee Free” church members adhere to "Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy” and they obviously practice what they preach.  Last night we heard that everything on Harris and Lewis shuts all Sunday, with the exception of one pub which will be open for a few hours for evening meals.  I’ve never been to a place so shut up.

It bothers me that those who don’t follow their religion are asked to go along with their belief.  Where is their acceptance of difference?  I researched enough to learn that Sunday ferry crossings were first permitted only a few years ago, amid howls of protest.  Some locals were convinced that there would be a judgement made; some ferry disaster to follow which would be God’s will.  Does that mean children are told if they play in the park on a Sunday God will do his best to harm them???  

I feel like we have stepped back in time.  

The date is a day head of my posts.  It's Sunday but with Monday's date.  I must gave entered the wrong date last week.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.