Poppy

By Poppy

Flat Calm

A wonderfully calm day - not a breath of wind.  We have a weather station in the back garden and every morning I look out and see its little cups (the anemometer!) whizzing round but today it was completely still . . .   Mike took the dinghy over to Peridot to check her mooring, you can't waste a day like this, and you never know when the next gales will hit us!

 I spent most of the day in the garden, once I'd got a Bolognese sauce underway and a batch of apple muffins out of the oven.  Lots to do in the veg beds, the hens were very pleased with the bean stalks, bolted lettuce and gone over nasturtiums.  One of the new hens even laid an egg in appreciation!  

Exhausted myself turning the compost bins, forking it from one bin to another to help it rot down more quickly.  Lots of worms in it, so I had Bonny the Bantam pecking around my feet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.