caitjob

By caitjob

Farmer's market

Still amused by the adverts which offered 'products de terroir' which to me translates as products of terror, but actually means locally produced goods.

The roads were closed in the centre of Nanterre today and stalls lined them instead. For some reason they'd also put hay down on the road. May have been straw, never sure of the difference... Not entirely sure it really matters either.

There were lots of pens with animals in as well, slightly strange seeing pigs, chickens and horses on the cobbled streets where I usually walk to uni. The stalls were selling lots of different things from jewellery to honey, to wine and cheese. I've never seen so many actual French people in berets. Think it might be an artisan thing.

I got to try lots of different things including a lot of different varieties of saucisson which I guess is salami in English. I wasn't a massive fan of them but tried one with goat's cheese and another with nuts in anyway. I was more interested in the stalls with the baked goods. I ended up buying something which looked a bit like a cornish pasty but the pastry was somewhere between a biscuit and a cake. It was filled with raspberry jam and delicious. (I even chose jam over chocolate which is quite an achievement for me!).

Unfortunately it was raining so I think the market wasn't as good as it could've been and on the way home someone drove through a puddle and I got soaked. Oh well, if the weather's better tomorrow I might go again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.