Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Birthday - with Sony RX100

Longer gap than intended in posting here; editing video of 'our' performance at the Ilkley Literature Festival and putting on Youtube, subsequently on my blog,

https://wp.me/pkm0h-1Wu

a bigger job than expected.

Unusually I took some pix at our friend Janet's birthday 'thingy' (not a party) - usually Petronela records these kinds of events but Janet wanted her in the pic,  and as I bought the RX100 to always have in my pocket, why not? 2017 was the last year Janet could turn the number candles round which prompted her son Theodore (at the back) to say "Think about when your 59!"
Janet recovered enough by the time she received the birthday pix to say she was so impressed with the colours.
I don't suppose I will ever get used to the zoom lens (but at least this Zeiss zoom doesn't change aperture too much - it's what I really disliked about most of the zooms I could afford - and I still dislike autofocus and the 'fly-by-wire' manual focus. 
For me, this camera would be perfect if it took an interchangeable, collapsing, manual focus lens, for a start like the old Leica 50mm, its Russian copy or the Mamiya Press lens.
But the reason I bought this (MkIII because for me a viewfinder is indispensible), to have it always in my pocket to 'blip' more frequent;ly, is satisfied. However I think if I set off on a 'photographic expedition' I'll take the Fuji X-Pro 1 with manual 'legacy' lenses (and, of course, a film camera).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.