Herbal

A strange day, the sun battling to do it's best to continue the great weather. I was feeling lousy all day so didn't get to enjoy much of it. Did take a short look at my bees which are causing me some concern. They are still very active but I don't like the seemingly large number of dead bees on the ground in front of the hives, fearing there may be a rare and as yet untreatable viral infection at work. I understand Newcastle University is working overtime to find the cause/remedy. I will undertake a full inspection this coming week.

Perhaps the excellent flying weather is simply causing more natural deaths. There are still lots of flowers about such as this Mallow. I think it is from some "wildflower" seed I had left over in summer and literally just threw at the ground. I didn't realise just how good it is as a herbal plant and the ways it can be used. Not sure though that I will be doing anything this year and see if it survives the winter. Perhaps it contains some bee virus cure.

Angie's father was moved out of intensive care today to an intermediate "observation" ward. So that was positive news and while he continues to be a bit "grumpy" (in itself positive) he is slowly accepting he can't go home on Monday. Sister Sigi visited him today and took along some homemade chicken soup and biscuits, both of which he requested after complaining about the hospital food! He managed six spoonfuls and two biscuits. Angie took the day off but will be on duty again tomorrow when the others have to go to work. The workload has increased as one sister is away on holiday.

So despite my niggling unknown problem, a good day.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.