Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

Till the next daring adventure...

Thailand has proved a challenge and a definite adventure. In my 10 days I have:

Caught psychotic public transport
Crashed my way through the floating markets
Visited a palace and countless temples
Eaten street food (still not entirely sure what it was)
Gone to traditional Thai theatre
Seen Muay Thai boxing
Attempted bad karaoke
Visited Hill top villages
Gone into a cage with Tigers
Visited the night markets
Rode an elephant
Went to the Golden triangle
Drank whiskey made with a femented snake
Released a lantern into the night sky
Danced with lady-boys
Mountain biked out of a jungle
Rafted on a bamboo raft
Rode in an Ox-drawn cart
A million other things
and have taken myself well out of my comfort zone.

Complacency can be dangerous, and sometimes we need to challenge who we are and what we know, if only to grow as people. My adventure has had its ups and downs, but essentially it has reaffirmed my faith that the wider world is worth knowing and I am glad that I went! If I should pack up and leave Melbourne, it will be much easier with this knowledge. Today I have returned to Melbourne, and this morning (I am writting this at 4am on the 24th) marks my 39th birthday - I will be excited to tell my friends where I have been as they do not know!

Life is either a daring adventure or nothing, and I know which I prefer....

....Did I mention I rode an elephant!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.