Skyography

A couple of days of dramatic cloudage have reinvigorated my photography. The processing obviously exaggerates the textures and patterns but they have been there in the sky demanding my attention all weekend. Today was a different kind of sky to yesterday but both types have been recognisable as having distinct characteristics that I've witnessed before. They must appear under similar but not identical atmospheric conditions. 

The clouds all have an unusually textured appearance, presenting as a spectrum of different densities and therefore greys. It's not so much the individual clouds that are so striking but the look of the sky as a whole. I know different types of cloud have very specific names but I'm not sure how that applies to the way clouds appear together? Some research is required.

An outdoors day was bookended, literally, with a wonderful talk and discussion from Melissa Benn, another great event in this year's Ilkley Literature Festival. She's a very passionate advocate for a more equitable education system. She was inspiring. I feel the need to promote her latest book, which I've now started to read. It's called Life Lessons. I promised her I'd spread the word, in return for her photograph.

Thanks so much for all the love for Saturday's photograph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.